Bigger Prince Russel Cup in 2018

SUCCESS. After the successful staging of the recent 4th Prince Russel Cup Football Festival organizer and Montecarlo FC prime mover Julliene Gerona (left) vows to stage a bigger tournament next year. (Photo by Jack Biantan)   

MONTECARLO FC prime mover the tournament organizer Juliene Gerona promised that there will a bigger Prince Russel Cup Football Festival next year.
A close to 100 teams from all over Mindanao and as far as Iligan City and Surigao City came to join the tournament two weeks ago in honor of the two decease Monte Carlo players at the Westridge Sports Park field.
“We will invite more teams and make sure we will have a better schedule next year. Many teams did not join the tournament because some teams were busy preparing for the NMRAA regional meet,’’ she said.
She also added that they were lucky also that the weather cooperated for them during the two day football fest.
Cagayan de Oro’s top football club, Higala dominated winning the Girls 17 Under, the Boys 17 Under, and the Women’s Open titles. The Higala kids of coach Weng Dela Riarte placed second in the 12 Under category.
CdO’s top football playing school, Rosevale School won the Boys 14 Under division. They did not join the Boys 12 Under category as most of their players were preparing for the NMRAA regional meet.
Sponsors of the tournament were Chick’en Bab Grill, Rock and Style, SMART, Yoli Philippines, Nature’s Spring, Coca Cola, Skin Regimen, and Surposa Cowboys. Sun*Star CdO Inc. was media partner. ( Above

Champion – Hugpong FC
1st Runner-Up – Futbol Kami
2nd Run.up – Iligan FC
MVP – A.Lozano
Beat Goal Keeper – Jay Jabales
Best Defender – R. GAPOL
35 Above
Champion – Iligan FC
1st run.up – Hillsiders fc
2nd – Monte Carlo Uncles
MVP – Coach Emoc
Best Defender – Jimson Malolot
Best GK – George Catambacan

Women’s Open
Champion – Higala FC
1st Runner-Up – Iligan FC
2nd Runner-Up – Monte Carlo Queens
MVP – Patricia Ching
Best Goalkeeper- Joie Uy
Best Defender – Andrea Cabactulan
CHAMPION – Hillsiders FC
1ST Runner-Up – Uncle Ply FC (Malaybalay)
2nd Runner-Up – Capt. Bugoy
MVP – Jaymille Conmigo – Hillsiders
Best Defender – A.jay Burato (Uncle Ply FC)
Best Goal keeper – Hashkin Villorente – Hillsiders

10 Under Boys Category
Champion – OLES FC
1st R. Up – Abbas Orchard
2nd R.up – West City Central
Best Goal Keeper – Jerald Paluga ( OLES FC)
BEST Defender – Mohammad Campong ( Abbas Orchard)
12 Under Boys
Champion-Monte Carlo Kids
1sr Runner-Up-Higala FC
2nd Runner-Up – West City Central
MVP – Jefferson Sombero
Best Defender – Monique Sombero
Best Goal keeper – Charles Basaya
All from MCFC kids

14 Under Boys
Champion – Rosevale School
1st Runner-Up-Tigers FC
2nd Runner-Up-Abbas Orchard School
MVP – Lyle Dy
Best Defender – Ino Butaslac
Beat Goal Keeper – Dave Mendoza
All from Rosevale

17 Under Girls
Champion – Higala FC
1st Runner-Up-Surigao FC
2nd Runner-Up-Abbas FC
MVP-Patricia Ching
Best Defender-Andrea Cabactulan
Best Goal Keeper – Joie Uy

17 Under Boys
Champion – Higala FC
1st Runner-Up Rosevale FC


One thought on “Bigger Prince Russel Cup in 2018

Leave a Reply